Volver Volver

Enlaces recomendados

MACBA Foundation


Imprimir noticia

MACBA presents Volume!, the first major exhibition organised under the cooperation agreement between the MACBA Foundation and ”la Caixa” Foundation

Barcelona, 7 November 2011

Under the title Volume!, MACBA, the Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona, presents the first in a series of major exhibitions jointly organised with ”la Caixa” Foundation with the purpose of different selections from amongst the 5,500 works in their combined collections. The second show in the series, The Persistence of Geometry, will open at CaixaForum Madrid in mid-December this year.

The new contemporary art collection is the result of an agreement signed in July 2010 by Isidro Fainé, president of ”la Caixa” and ”la Caixa” Foundation, and Leopoldo Rodés, Chairman of the Board of the MACBA Foundation, and later extended to include the MACBA Consortium. Now, in Volume!, a selection of 350 works by 75 international artists fills the entire MACBA exhibition space to trace out a path that alternates between the sculptural and acoustic dimensions to pinpoint the turn of the 21st century as the moment when sound and the voice became consolidated as the most essential materials in artistic production. The most outstanding features in this route around the Museum are a series of specific sections that operate as separate exhibitions. These include the chronologically-organised MACBA Collection and several major works recently acquired by the MACBA Foundation, such as Muntadas’ choral installation Between the Frames: The Forum (Barcelona), 1983-1993 (2011) and 1395 Days without Red, a film project by ?ejla Kameri? and Anri Sala.

Parallel to this, in February, the Museum will present a show featuring the “film poems” of Alexandr Sokurov. The 75 artists represented in this exhibition include Miquel Barceló, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Samuel Beckett, Marcel Broodthaers, James Coleman, Jean Dubuffet, Latifa Echakhch, Öyvind Fahlström, Lucio Fontana, Peter Friedl, Ferran Garcia Sevilla, David Goldblatt, Luis Gordillo, Rodney Graham, Richard Hamilton, Joan Hernández Pijuan, Roni Horn, Cristina Iglesias, Joan Jonas, Anselm Kiefer, Allan McCollum, Joan Miró, Xavier Miserachs, Muntadas, Juan Muñoz, Bruce Nauman, Pablo Palazuelo, Florian Pumhösl, Robert Rauschenberg, Gerhard Richter, Antonio Saura, Michael Snow and Antoni Tàpies, amongst others.



More information in the PDF press release

Noticias relacionadas